Relationships with the people we love can be complicated. Arguments can sometimes get heated and things can get physical, and before you know it someone has called the cops and you’ve been placed in handcuffs.
Connecticut statute defines domestic violence as “acts of family violence.” This means that any act that causes physical injury or the threat of physical injury towards a family member can be charged as family violence. This applies to assault, kidnapping, disorderly conduct, and breach of peace.
A criminal conviction for domestic violence in Connecticut can land you in prison anywhere between six months and 25 years and cost you $20,000 in fines. In addition, your relationship with your loved ones may never be the same.
If you have been accused of domestic violence or have had a protective order filed against you in New Haven, you need a domestic violence defense attorney who will fight to protect your rights and good name. I am prepared to do just that.